Packing and UnPacking

By Marika

Persistence = Opossum

Leave a comment

Soooo much to say. I don’t really remember everything. Quick updates: 

1) I got a mama Opossum with severe head trauma.  She had ten babies in her pouch.  

2) I got two baby baby baby baby baby baby bunnies

3) I released my skunks into ze wild!

4) I only have three weeks left!!!!! :((((( :))))) (as you can see, I have mixed feelings about that.) 

5) We had open house, the biggest event of the year. I willingly volunteered to go in the dunk tank…..I later regretted that decision. 

6) Apparently Agave is bad for you. 

7) I went on a Coyote rescue.

An Opossum came into the center because she was hit by a car. Incase you weren’t aware, Opossums are marsupials, like kangaroos and wallabies, meaning they keep their babies in a pouch.  The babies are born, underdeveloped, and they crawl in her pouch and attach to a nipple where they stay and finish developing for about 4 months.  Pretty cool eh?! So she had ten babies!!! She also had a severe head tilt, signifying severe head trauma.  Either that or she’s just super inquisitive alllll the time.  Anywhoo, I was mesmerized by this creature. Opossums aren’t beautiful, but they’re mystical. They are just so unusual looking and fascinating that I was determined to be in charge of mama. I was very persistent in begging my bosses to be able to look after her and one day, after having forced my way into the exam room to give her meds, I got her! Unfortunately, we had to give her a strong anti-inflammatory that would probably kill her babies.  But if she died, there would be no hope for any of her babies! Every morning I’d check on her, and every morning for six days there would be a teeny alien-like, bald, cold baby laying in her kennel. But she still had four! And she kept them for 18 days!!! I was so happy…until yesterday :(. Side note: Sometimes when she relaxes, she opens her pouch and you can see her babies nursing inside.  It’s the most incredible sight! So, yesterday, I heard a squeaking and I looked inside her kennel (She’s in a room that I decorated to look like a forest, but she spends the day in the kennel because it’s dark) and saw one of her babies walking around! It’s eyes were still closed but it was growing hair.  I freaked out and asked my supervisor what to do.  She said that they were probably old enough to be let out occasionally and I should just leave her alone. I was skeptical, but waited.  When I checked about an hour later, the baby was dead :(. She lost another one last night as well.  I don’t understand, I was doing everything right, I guess she’s just really ill and can’t take care of them well. I noticed the second to last one was walking around today. He felt cold and dehydrated so we warmed him up and I gave him fluids.  He still didn’t make it :(.  She has one more! And I want her to keep it sooooo badly!! I’ve checked on her every twenty minutes all day so fingers crossed. I got to open up her pouch and look inside to make sure her last baby was okay.  It was so insane!!!!!!!!!!! 

A horrible bug has plagued the interns and I am starting to feel quite ill. I will keep you all in suspense about the other topics and write soon. Adios! 

 

 

Leave a comment